Report of the Nominating Committee

Nominations from the Floor

Warrant for the Annual Meeting

Candidate Photos


2015 Annual Report: annrep.pdf

The Nominating Committee has proposed the following persons to stand for election to the Vestry at the Annual Meeting on January 24, 2016:

Lynda Blair
Dustin Henderson
Christopher Laconi
David Lapin
Jason Lewis
Virginia Pierce
Nathanael Slater

There are four three-year terms and one year of the late Bruce Webb’s term to be filled.

Also nominated for one-year terms are:

For Clerk:
Frederick Ou

For Treasurer:
Adam Rutledge

Delegates to the Diocesan Convention (and the Boston Harbor Deanery) (two to be elected):

Betsey Ridge Madsen
Julianne Turé

Alternate Delegate (one to be elected):

Robb Scholten

Photographs of the nominees accompanied by statements of their intention to serve are posted in the lobby of Moseley Hall. Photos also appear below.


Nominations from the Floor of the Annual Meeting:  The Vestry has adopted a process for nominations from the floor after the Nominating Committee has announced the candidates which it proposes.  Any four members of the Parish can nominate a candidate by filling out and signing a nomination form that gives the name of the nominee and the office to which that person is nominated.  This process does not preclude nominations at the Meeting itself; but it does permit the name of the nominee to appear in print on the ballot.  The Nominating Committee may also adopt such nominees from the floor as part of its proposed slate as well.  If you have any questions about this process, please speak with the Clerk (Christopher Laconi) or his predecessor (C. Thomas Brown), or call the Parish office.  A statement describing qualifications for Officers and Members of the Vestry may be found at the rear of the church.


An Important Message From the Clerk:  The Vestry has set the next Annual Meeting of the Parish for Sunday, January 24, 2016.  At that meeting there will be elections for Vestry and for Diocesan Convention.  To qualify to vote in a Parish election, you must be a baptized Christian, at least 16 years of age, who makes a regular, recorded contribution to support the Parish for the preceding year.  You must also subscribe to the authority of the Parish By-Laws and the Canons of the Diocese.

Under the By-Laws of the Parish, the Clerk is responsible for maintaining the Electoral Roll.  The Electoral Roll for the upcoming Annual Meeting is now posted outside the Parish Office.  It consists of those who have pledged or made a similarly recorded qualifying contribution to the General Fund of the Parish during the past year.  Your name must be on the Roll in order to vote.  Any changes to the Roll must be made before the Parish Meeting commences.  Please inspect the list and let the Clerk know if you think there is an error.

The Advent needs and values the participation of new parishioners, both in Parish life and Parish governance.  If you are new, please be sure to make a pledge for 2015 so that you can vote in the January, 2016 Annual Meeting.  If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

In accordance with Article IV, Section 2, of the By-Laws of the Parish of the Advent, the Clerk has posted the Warrant for the Annual Meeting in the lobby of the Parish Hall,  The Vestry has called the Annual Meeting for Sunday, January 24, 2016, at 10:00 am.

Faithfully yours,

Christopher Laconi, Clerk

Print Friendly, PDF & Email